Wednesday, May 25, 2022


Carrageenan is an extract of sulfated polysaccharide primarily obtained from a red seaweed commonly known as Irish Moss. It is an additive used to thicken, emulsify, and preserve foods and drinks. Meaning it can thicken foods and keep ingredients from separating.

Carrageenans are considered safe and allowed for consumption as food additives under the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations in USA.

It's widely used in the food industry as an additive to thicken, emulsify, and preserve foods and drinks. Carrageenan can be found in ice cream, cottage cheese, non-dairy milks, jelly, pudding, and infant formula. Carrageenan is mostly found in dairy products and dairy alternatives but is also commonly added to processed meat products

Some manufacturers use carrageenan as a binder in processed deli meats. Others inject it into pre-cooked poultry to tenderize the meat and keep it juicy for longer.

It is also a common ingredient in canned pet food. Unlike gelatin, which is made from animal products, carrageenan is appropriate for vegans, in desserts, for example.

Carrageenan is composed of d-galactose units. It is composed of 1,3-linked β-d-galactose and 1,4-linked α-d-galactose.

Popular Posts

FoodNavigator RSS

Food Packaging Technology